Emoji Explosions!


I was doing some research back in December trying to find inspiration for some new patterns. I’m trying to move away from the copyrighted “character” franchise of Disney, Marvel, Nintendo, and all of those big names. I mean, if one of these giant corporations noticed me and weren’t happy that I was using their success to power my own, they could easily shut down Family Bugs, and completely ruin my life. Plus, it’s just not an honest way to earn my income. So, what is a designer suppose to do?

Crochet Texas Flag Pillow PatternShortly after Hurricane Harvey hit Houston, I harvested the idea of State-shaped, Flag-colored decorative throw pillows. And I’m pretty sure that I’ve hit gold with this idea. I’ve written a few blog posts about these that are linked at the end of this post, as is a link to each of the pillow patterns that I’ve published thus far. My Texas pillow actually managed to raise a nice chunk of pocket change to help victims of that hurricane. And I am continuing to work on designing all of the American States. But, it takes me about a month to create even one of these patterns…they are huge! And such a long-term project pushes my endurance and attention span past its limits (for the same reason why I don’t crochet blankets). So, what better than to add in some smaller, quick little patterns to break up the monotony of these larger crochet projects? But, seriously, what could I create that is original and unique to the FamilyBugs name?

During my perusings, I came across a “National Day Celebrations” calendar. A what, now? So, every single day of the year has some absurd holiday that can be celebrated. I’m sure you know the more popular ones like “national donut day”, “national talk like a pirate day”, and “Star Wars day” (may the fourth be with you?). But, there is also “national pickle day”, “national Handwriting day”, and “national croissant day”. And I thought that these would make wonderful inspirations for me! Probably not on a daily basis, because I’m not that good, but surely I can figure out two a week to create tiny crochet patterns from. The best part of this idea, is that it is open to my interpretation!

I include detailed step-by-step instructions in each pattern so that you can not only crochet a quick, tiny project, but add a personalized Kawaii-style emoji face. There are several mouth and eye styles that you can combine to form a variety of different facial expressions. There is my claim to fame – emoji all the crochet things! Haha! But really, these tiny crochet toys can make excellent toys, gifts, party favors, decorations, buntings, Appliqués, bookmarks, or anything else you can think of. I just love them!

Crochet pencils and paper patternFor example, National Handwriting Day was an invitation for me to create these adorable crochet pencils and paper. I actually got two super simple patterns out of that one. And three Etsy listings once I’ve posted them separately and together. If I have the discipline and focus, I can almost write up one of these smaller patterns in one day (but I usually take two or more just to get it right). And as I keep making them, I can also offer up bundles to help my customers save even more money, while encouraging them to support my business. It’s really a win-win situation for all of us.

So far, I’ve taken advantage of National Pickle Day, National Sandwhich Day, National Donut Day, National Handwriting Day, and National Get To Know Your Customers Day. Not quite two patterns a week, but I get faster with each pattern!

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!