Tiny Doll Display


I have been busy busy the past several days/weeks getting ready for a craft show that’s coming up soon. Of course I’ve done the research and I know how important having a good display can be for such an event. One of my products are these cute little garden fairies that I made out of pipe cleaners and silk flowers (I just love them, and so do my girls!). But after searching high and low I could not find a display that was perfect for them. I’m not happy just laying them out on the table, that’s blah, and putting them in a bowl or box would result in a tangly mess. They are kind of gangly in the limbs. Mr. Lovely impulsively bought some tortilla chips several weeks ago, and as I was getting ready to throw away the box, a brilliant idea came to me and I just had to share my process with you guys.

  1. Take a large box.
  2. Cover said box in white paper, or paint it all white.
  3. Splash some watercolor on that puppy.
    1. Pour some water on the surface, splash it around, no rhyme or reason.
    2. Dab your paintbrush in some watercolor, dab it on the box in splotches, swirl it around as desired. Again, no rhyme or reason.
    3. Let the paint dry. Depending on how much water your poured on the box, it might take a while.
  4. Create relevant details (in this case, the toadstools)
  5. Add adorable tiny clothes pins.
  6. Hang your tiny dolls accordingly.

It’s pretty simple, right? I really cannot believe that no one else has done one like this before. Or at least, I couldn’t find anything even remotely similar.

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

