How to Write a Crochet Pattern


When I first started crocheting, it was 6 years ago, and I didn’t know a whole lot about what I was doing. I made some pretty terrible things. Then, a year later, I started selling my works. It was super stressful, I had a newborn, a 1-yr-old and a 2-yr-old, and I did a lot of neglecting of housework during those first few years. It wasn’t worth it. So I did some research and realized that with crochet, the money was in the patterns. My first pattern remains, to this day, my most popular and biggest seller. It’s been updated and edited several times as I’ve learned and gained experience. But, for those of you who may be interested in designing your own pattern, I applaud you! It is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. I’m going to break down what I do, and obviously, each artist is going to have a different method. Maybe this will encourage you to get out there and try your own hand at creating something beautiful!

Research. You’ve decided what you want to make, that might be one of the hardest steps to overcome. Now, do some research and see what’s already out there. You do NOT want to make something that already exists. Not only will it decrease the business that other designer employs, but it pegs you as a copycat and doesn’t do you any favors as a designer either.

Create. This might be the most frustrating step. Crochet, frog, crochet some more, frog again, keep going. There are times when I might spend 4 or 5 hours crocheting, and turn around and rip it all out! Play around with the increases, and the placement of the half-double-crochet stitches. Most of the time, I can’t determine if ROW 4 is going to be right until I get to ROW 7. Stitch markers will be your best friends! Make sure that you write it down as you go. I keep a screen in front of me, because editing is so much easier to type.

Recreate. Test out your pattern, make further tweaks as needed. Take the pictures that are needed to help your readers complete the pattern (use natural lighting when possible). Make it as easy to follow as you possibly can.

Publish. Find yourself a good website to publish (or list) your pattern online. Etsy, Ravelry, Craftsy, and this blog are my favorite platforms.There are tons others available. Make sure that you have good photos of your finished product (preferably on a model). And there you have it!

It really isn’t difficult. The hardest part is going to be actually creating your pattern. I use a template that has “Family Bugs” and my logo, along with the title page, materials needed, gauge, finished measurements, etc. Now, are you ready to make your own pattern?

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

