Other Crafts I Like To Do


I have been learning that there are crafty people and there are non-crafty people. Quite frankly, I do not understand non-crafty people. It just doesn’t make sense to me how some people cannot take a bunch of acryllic paint throw it on a canvass without rhyme or reason and not make something beautiful. Art is such a diverse and personal experience that there is no right or wrong way to make something. But I do understand that some people just don’t have an interest or a knack for it. I am no such people, though. I LOVE creating things, anything, and have several artistic talents and hobbies.

IMG_1729Mixed Media journaling is a fairly recent discovery of mine that I have been thoroughly enjoying. To take some paint, feathers, ribbon, pens, add a quote or bible verse and have a beautiful, thoughtful, meaningful creation. I used this form of art journaling as therapy when dealing with the grief of a lost loved one. On rainy days when I just need to be “artsy”, or to create something encouraging and uplifting for someone who might be going through an emotionally hard time.

Sewing. Because how else am I going to get affordable, fashionable, cute clothing that fits me to a T? When I was pregnant with my last baby, I got a whole bunch of articles of clothing from Goodwill and managed to create almost an entire wardrobe from refashions. It was a lot of fun. I have made outfits for my children and myself. I also pretty frequently alter my current clothing as I lose weight or get tired of my current styles.

Home decor. Almost every bit of wall art that is in my house has been carefully created by me. I can’t decide if my favorite is my skeleton key collection, or the canvass that has each of my children’s handwritten “I love you” painted on it.

Crochet…obviously is one of my passions. I spend a lot of my free time researching, designing, hooking, finding inspiration for my next crochet project or pattern. It is comforting and relaxing and just an enjoyable experience for me.

Basic crafting with my children. Painting shirts, creating educational resources, just for fun holiday crafts. Most of the time, they enjoy it, and I have fun putting it together for them 🙂

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

