Why “Family Bugs”?


During all of my research into social medias I have come across so many “how to name your business” articles and blog posts. Every single one of these articles stresses how important it is to choose a name that is clever, unique, original, and relevant. As more and more times passes, I fall more and more in love with the name that I eventually chose as my own business name: Family Bugs. Sometimes I elaborate with “Family Bugs Crochet”.

So how and why did I come up with that name? Well, it certainly wasn’t easy, I’ll give you that. I agonized and stressed, and brainstormed, and sought feedback. And finally, obviously, I settled on “Family Bugs” and just ran with it!

Bugs fascinate me. I know it sounds super weird, and grosses some people out, but I have always been interested in the exoskeletal creatures. As a child, I would collect those little pill-bug rollie pollies and force them into hibernation by stashing them in the freezer (my mother was so charmed, bless her heart!). I was that weirdo girl at summer camp who was called on to extract unwanted pests in the cabins. My very first blog was on a site called pleonast, and was named “smallgreenbug”, my xbox gamertag is also smallgreenbug. So, the “bug” portion of the name just made sense.

As I have grown as a person, and have gotten married, my little family has become the main source of my inspiration and support. I started my crochet business just weeks before my youngest was born, so children and family were pretty dominate in my thoughts at the time…and really ever since.

crochet hat pattern
“Going Buggy” collection of crocheted hats

I even took the time to “name” my family members cute little bug names, and one of the first things I ever crocheted were corresponding amigurumi (in hopes of using them as a logo, which never turned out how I wanted). I have also created the patterns for the corresponding hats <~~ So, there was me: the beautiful butterfly. My husband: Lovely Beetle. My son: Little grasshopper. My oldest daughter: Prissy Ladybug. And my youngest daughter: Busy Bumblebee. The interesting part, is that as the children have grown and developed, they seem to fit the “personalities” of these bugs. I am often amused at this.

So there you have it, the reason behind the name of “Family Bugs Crochet”!!

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

