What to include in your “About Me” section and why.


Everything that goes on the Internet can be seen by anyone. Yes, even creepy stalkers. I can totally understand wanting to completely omit an “about me” section. Really, I didn’t have one for a long time. My research, however, has led me to believe that there are advantages to showing yourself as an actual human being and sharing a bit of your personality and character quirks. There are a few ways that an “about me” section can benefit your craft-selling business, and even a few necessary things to include in one!

  • Previous education.  I’m not talking about school, although if you’ve taken a special class in your crafting, then, sure throw it in there.  What have you done in order to know your craft better?  Maybe it is a class you took in school, or an online class, or someone close to you took the time to teach you one-on-one.  Throw it in your about me section.
  • Accomplishments.  Has anything you made been featured in a magazine or other website?  How about any of your tutorials?  Receive any awards for anything?  It is perfectly ok to brag about yourself a little bit.  The point is to establish yourself as an expert and a professional in your field of crafting.  The about me section is the perfect place to put this.
  • Relatability.  You don’t have to go and spill every last detail about yourself, but knowing that you are a person that I can relate to…”Hey, I’ve got three children too!  Well, how about that, I also stay at home and craft during my free time!”  Now all of your tips and advice and suggestions come across on a whole new level of useful.  “Well, if that worked for her, maybe it will work for me to.  I will have to give it a try”.  I mean it is “about me” not completely “about my work”, so throw in some personality!
  • Location.  Especially if you are going to be selling at craft shows.  People LOVE to support local economies.  You don’t even have to give what city you are living in, but a round-a-bouts idea.  For example, I live around Amarillo, TX.  I don’t live IN Amarillo, but anyone in the panhandle of Texas understands I am local.

Some people are more comfortable sharing more personal information.  Maybe use nicknames for your children (like, mine are “Grasshopper”, “Bumblebee“, and “Ladybug”).  Showing your readers that you are a person, not just some mindless computer, and that you have expertise in your field of creation certainly won’t hurt your craft-selling.

Today’s blog post has been brought to you by the letter A, and the A-Z April blog challenge – “About me”

If you have any other things that should be included in an “about me” section, don’t hesitate to leave a comment below!  Like and share this post if you found it useful, and don’t forget to subscribe to this blog for more tips, advice, and suggestions for selling your own hand-made crafts 🙂

9 thoughts on “What to include in your “About Me” section and why.

  1. A great start to the challenge. This is something that I deliberated about for some time. I have only recently updated my “About Me”. It is very difficult to balance being personal without giving away too much!

    1. I definitely agree! But it is also important to be an actual person with real experiences in specific circumstances. Thanks so much for your comment 🙂

    1. As it should be. If you have a blog about your crafting then your about me section doesn’t need to be overwhelmed with your children and family life. Thank you so much for the comment 🙂

  2. Some good advice there :). I have just added a new about me section to my blog because I agree that it can encourages people in. It can be so hard to figure out where to draw the line.

  3. I’ve been debating an About Me section for quite awhile. On one hand I like the idea of one and I love reading others’ but on the other hand I’m a pretty private person. My personal facebook page (that’s set to private and only personal friends can see) rarely even gets personal information. Thank you so much for the ideas for the About Me section. I enjoyed reading someones take on what should go in it.

    1. You don’t have to go into a lot of personal details to still be yourself. I hope you find a happy medium between staying private and showing some personality 🙂

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

