Biting off more than you can chew? How to lessen the stress of too many responsibilities.


It has been way too long since my last post. I have started upon the journey of creating crochet patterns for the disney princess dresses, and I am so excited about it that I haven’t done much of anything else. Just the ideas that have been racing through my head for that business is enough to be overwhelming, but I also have the ideas for my blogging business, and for the bible class that I am teaching, and for teaching my own children…that isn’t to mention the basic home-maker responsibilities, and the responsibility that I have to my body to stay healthy and strong, etc.
So, maybe I can learn to take my own advice that I am offering up to you in this post of how to lessen the stress of too many responsibilities.

  • Learn to say no. That sounds pretty easy, right? For a lot of people it may actually be easy. I have never found saying no to anyone easy. I feel like I have to help everyone, and there are lots of people out there who feel the same. It can be hard to take a back seat in a situation, especially when you know what sort of outcome you would like to see and how to go about to get that outcome. But, seriously, saying no can save you tons of stress from yet another obligation.
  • Prioritize. What is the most important thing that you need to get done? Do it first. Of course everyone’s ideas of what is most important is going to be different based on your personal morals. My family is always first to me. Others will put their jobs first…ok. Just figure out what is more important, put it at the top of your list, and get it done first.
  • Use a schedule. When trying to figure out how to get everything done within a certain time frame, calculate how long so,etching is going to take to get done and schedule it out. Like, with these patterns that I am writing, I just finished the draft part. I’ve got a stack of papers full of scribbles and three unfinished dresses. I take a break from that to work on bible class material. Then I might work a bit more on the patterns. Especially with something so long term, and when everything has a similar deadline, it helps to break it up into sections.
  • Write down any new ideas and save them for later. Don’t you dare take on a new project when you are already overwhelmed with your current ones. Write down any new ideas or plans or whatever and the leave it at that. I am seriously bad at this one. You get a new idea and you figure out how to do it and you get excited about it, and you want to start it so badly…jus don’t.
  • Finish your current projects. For some people this is easier said than done. Starting something new is exciting and…well…new. But after a period of time (could be short or long depending on your personality) it gets boring and you are ready to move on. Stick with it a little bit longer and just finish it. Hit your deadline, don’t let your clients or customers down, and you will be rewarded for it.
  • Having too many responsibilities can quickly become stressful and overwhelming and create a vicious circle of destruction. You can’t get your current responsibilities under control so you drop some, letting people down, pick up some new ones, vowing to be better at it this time, but took on too many…see how it works? Follow these five simple (but sometimes difficult) tips to keep your life under control, and from becoming too much to handle.

    Want to add to this list? Simply comment below, we’d love to hear how you handle too many responsibilities! Don’t forget to “like” and “share” this post with your friends and other craft sellers 😀

    Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

    