The Importance of Keeping an organized schedule


Railroad watch
Railroad watch (Photo credit: mpclemens)

 

I have written before about the importance of staying organized. I even used pictures of my own chaotic disorganization. Apart from keeping your supplies in order, it is also important to keep to a schedule. “They” say that to have an effective and efficient blog then posting regularly is a must. Not necessarily every day, but at least a few times a week. Stay up to date is pretty important for the online universe all around. The best way to do this? Create a schedule for yourself. Now, every person is going to have a different schedule based on their specific time constraints. For someone who uses their crafting business as a full-time job that serves as their only income…well, they have a lot more time and their schedule is a lot more serious than someone who dabbles part time into selling as a means to simply support their crafting.

 

I have found that my schedule works best by allotting time rather than minute by minute scheduling. My first priority in the day are my three incredible kids. You know, they are kids, it is impossible to say “we are going to do this craft for thirty minutes.” Because they may enjoy that particular craft for an entire hour, or it may only keep their attention for five minutes. So, for my scheduling, I just figure out what needs to get done, prioritize what is more important, and knock things out one at a time.

 

Česky: Hodinky Timex T5E901 Ironman Triathlon ...
Česky: Hodinky Timex T5E901 Ironman Triathlon 30 Lap FLIX (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Some people can’t figure their schedules like that. My husband, for example, does best when he figures out how he is going to be spending every moment during the day. There are planners that you can get that has each day broken down in 15 minute intervals. He likes to even allott time for bathroom breaks, phone calls, and other fun activities.

 

I am sure that there are a ton of other scheduling options out there that you can choose from. The most important thing to keep in mind though, is to actually write up your schedule, stick it somewhere you will see it, and stick to it. A rewards based system seems to work really well for some people: get this done, and then treat yourself to something pleasurable.

 

If you have a different way of organizing your schedule, I would sure love to hear about it! Leave a comment below. And don’t forget to like and share this post with your friends!

 

Subscribe for more tips, advice, suggestions, and ideas on running your own handmade craft business 😀

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Keeping an organized schedule

  1. Wow, he really schedules his day like that? I would absolutely die. I am just getting into scheduling myself. Currently, I have three separate calendars, but I am in the process of combining them. I have a personal one with events that I need to go to, a blogging calendar, and a crafting calendar. It’s more of a “make sure to get this done by the end of the day” type of set up instead of “I need to get this done at this time”. It’s less stressful for me, and has been working so far.

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

