How to earn an income from a crafting hobby


Did you wake up this morning dreading going to work? Does your situation make it impossible to work outside the home? Maybe it is time for you to consider changing your hobby of crafting into an income.

First of all, there are thousands of different craft related products that you could sell. There are patterns and tutorials, novelty supply products (like special yarn, unique scissors, maybe pouches to keep everything organized), the products themselves.

Secondly, there are dozen different venues you can choose from. Online sites like Etsy or Artfire, Amazon, or EBay, blogging or your own website. Brick and mortar shops like consignment or thrift. Some can be very successful selling whole sale to boutiques, or with craft fairs and indie shows.

Thirdly, and last of all, you are the boss. You control how many hours you work, when you take off days, and how you spend your time. The flexibility itself might be enough to convince you.

I am not going to lie, it will be very difficult and require a lot of hard work to get things started and to maintain your own little business. But if you are stuck in a dead end job that you hate, then maybe just maybe it is time to consider getting paid for your favorite hobby instead!

3 thoughts on “How to earn an income from a crafting hobby

  1. I would love to turn my hobby into a steady income, but honestly, I’m not sure if I can do it. I don’t want to turn it into my primary job, and I know it’s hard balancing a full-time job and a small business as well. I am hoping to be able to grow my hobby enough that I can at least afford to sustain it, meaning, I’d want to earn enough to pretty much be able to buy more yarn and supplies, not pay for my apartment and car. I think that is a much more accomplishable goal for me at this time.

    1. Setting short term goals will eventually get you to your long term ones. I definitely could not live off of my businesses income right now…but the little extra money sure is nice!

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

