10 months – (14) UBC Oct 2012


Yesterday, my youngest daughter turned 10 months.  I look back at all that she has learned and accomplished in those short ten months (in order): Lost her umbilical stump, experienced her first diaper blow-out, learned to roll from stomach to back, slept through the night, learned to roll from back to stomach, started crawling, started sitting up on her own, spoke her first few words, cut her first tooth, eaten her first solid meal, started cruising around furniture…and probably several others that I am overlooking.  Conjunctionally, I am also coming up on my first year as a business woman, and it is fun to look back and see how far I have come in these short eleven months (in no particular order): Sold my first product, had my first repeat customer, started a blog (got 50-ish followers), maintaining a steady stream of orders, participated in my first craft show, became a professional and an expert in my niche, made many new friends and contacts…and again, probably several others that I am overlooking.

So, in retrospect, I have grown quite a bit as an entrepreneur these past 11 months, and I can’t help but look ahead with high hopes at what I can accomplish in the next 11 months.  My goals include, but are not limited to: Creating and maintaining a mailing list, earning some money from this blog, creating and selling more patterns and tutorials as opposed to finished products, and learning how to balance my children and housework with business ventures.

A few months after starting up my business, I filled out a SWOT self-analysis.  I am thinking that perhaps in a few more months (after the holiday chaos), it will be time to complete another SWOT self-analysis to really be able to see where I was, how far I have come, and where I need to keep improving.

What are some ways that you keep moving forward, learning from your past, and setting new goals for yourself?

 

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

