Let Go Of Perfection


Imperfect
Imperfect (Photo credit: Graela)

(day 9 abc)

I would call my 2 yr-old son a perfectionist.  If he can’t figure out how to do something within the first couple of tries, he often throws it down (or himself down, depending on what he’s working with) and goes into a whining fit.  I despise whining.  I am the complete opposite of a perfectionist.  I LOVE those little “mistakes” in a project.  I feel that those little quirks give a unique personality to that object.  You can then come to the conclusion, that I often lose my patience with my son when he loses his patience with himself.  I suppose you could say that learning to deal with each other is a work in progress with both of us.

Nothing in life ever runs to perfection.  I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of Murphy and his wonderful law which states that “anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.”  You could run yourself quite ragged and to the brink of a stressful breakdown trying to get everything perfect.

Smile 12 a
Smile 12 a (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t want to be misunderstood, it’s definitely good to do your best and always try your hardest.  However, it is also easy (especially for the perfectionist) to get carried away with making everything perfect.  I think that Bob Parsons sums it up quite nicely with this quote:  “There’s not a business anywhere that is without problems. Business is complicated and imperfect. Every business everywhere is staffed with imperfect human beings and exists by providing a product or service to other imperfect human beings.”

Wether we are talking about a hand-made crafting business or the writing one, you will have to deal with other people and other venues.  People, as a nature, are imperfect.  Someone in the Author Blog Challenge wrote something about over-editing.  So, try to relax a little bit, you don’t have to 100% perfect 100% of the time.  I promise, it will all be ok to let a mistake now and then slip.

Go and see what’s for sale right now on my website! (Hint: Click the picture)

familybugs.net
http://www.familybugs.net

Join up with me on facebook for great deals, sneak peaks, and exclusive offers!

facebook.com/familybugs
http://www.fb.com/familybugs

And don’t forget to *LEAVE A COMMENT* share this post, and subscribe for more great tips, advice, suggestions, and personal examples in the world of selling hand-made crafts (but especially crochet!).

6 thoughts on “Let Go Of Perfection

  1. Over editing can be an issue like the plague. I went through four versions of Yassa before it was ready for mass consumption, but I think four was just enough. Five would have been overkill 🙂 I am lucky to have an editor that thinks the way I do and I believe that’s one of the most important ingredients. WRITE ON!

    1. Thanks for your comment, Jo. I agree that it is very important to work with like-minded people. It really can make all the difference 😀

  2. I have the opposite problem to over-editing. I move from one story to the next before ever getting to the editing. I have to really force myself to sit and edit because it is my least favorite part of the writing process.

    1. Rebecca, have you thought of enlisting the help of family/friends, or even an enthusiastic fan to do your editing? I’m sure anyone would consider it a great privilege to not only get the first look at an early edition of your work, but to be part of the process could be a real honor. Thank you a lot for your comment 😀

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

