Lessons from small children


German road sign children
German road sign children (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(day 5 abc)

If you were to ask me what my goal is in life, without hesitation I will answer “three things: Serve God, love my husband, raise Godly children.”  I have three of the most incredible kids ever: a two and a half little boy, a one and a half little girl, and a five month old little girl.  Right now, they make up a majority of my world.  While I am raising them, they are also teaching me.

Routines make all the difference.  When a small child has a routine dictated to him, he thrives.  He knows what to expect, what’s coming next, and he can mentally prepare.  Lack of a routine will throw a child’s balance completely off kilter.  It is important.  Well, the same can be said of adults, especially those adults whose time is “their own”.  Everyone’s routine is going to be a bit difference and it might take some trial-and-error to find what is going to work for you and what isn’t.  Maybe you like to stay up til the wee hours of the morning working, maybe you’d prefer to wake up before the sun is up.

Consistency is the number one important thing about raising children.  However, this is also the most difficult.  Small children are constantly testing their boundaries, their limits, how far can they push things?  If they can get away with it one time, but not another time…that sends mixed signals.  I have discovered while writing this blog that the same is true of adults.  I don’t have a consistent time when I write this blog…therefore, I have often forgotten if I’ve written for the day or not.  Especially being part of the author blog challenge, and having to write every day, this isn’t a good thing.

English: Raising Noodles family. Raising Noodl...
English: Raising Noodles family. Raising Noodles is a community of parents dedicated to raising children to be good world citizens through the principles of Secular Humanism. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Structured activities can calm the chaos.  This is a good point for those writers out there that might get overwhelmed with the over abundance of ideas floating around in their heads.  Free play often results in fighting over toys, throwing objects around, and maybe a bit of boredom from time-to-time (especially for my son, when his sisters are both asleep).  Sometimes it’s a good thing to just let loose and get a little crazy, but sometimes you need to focus your attention and direct the chaos in one direction.

Have a game-plan.  I usually wake up a little earlier than my children (I blame this on my exploding ladies, seeing as I’m still nursing the little one full time, and she’ll sleep 10-12 hours at night).  For about 30-60 minutes, I develop a basic plan for the day.  Granted, it doesn’t vary much from day-to-day (it doesn’t really have to at this point in my children’s lives).  As far as business goes, set yourself a *daily* goal: This is what I am going to get accomplished today.  Sometimes you’ll get it done, and sometimes you wont, but at least you have something to strive towards.

Child 1
Child 1 (Photo credit: Tony Trần)

Individual attention will make a glowing creature.  When I take the time to pay individual attention to any of my children, they know that I love and cherish them, and they want to please and obey me.  Their characters, in turn, glow and expand.  It is really easy to just bundle everything up together and forget that it is made up of individual aspects.  I’m not saying that I treat all three of my children like one big kid (that’s sort of silly).  Sometimes, though, their names come out of my mouth in one big jumbled word.  Writers, sometimes it is ok to just develop one character for a time.  Crafters, sometimes it is ok to focus on one aspect for a time (maybe you’ve fallen behind in your book keeping, it’s ok to spend an entire afternoon getting caught up or researching how to do that better).

God gave us children for a lot of reasons, and I believe that one of the big ones, was for us to learn and grow more towards Him.  I love my kids dearly.  If you are thinking, “she must be crazy to have had three children in *less then* two and a half years!”  I assure you, I get very overwhelmed at times and we have moments of panic, but I really wouldn’t have had it any other way.  All three of my children (yes, even the baby), are best friends, they have giggle fits together, and they wrestle together, and the sleep together, and occasionally wear each other’s clothes (failure on Mommy’s part).  The same can be said of your writing, or your crafting.  Sometimes everything can overwhelm you and maybe cause you to panic and get overwhelmed, but eventually it will all have to play nicely together in order to create your masterpiece!

Go and see what’s for sale right now on my website! (Hint: Click the picture)

familybugs.net
http://www.familybugs.net

Join up with me on facebook for great deals, sneak peaks, and exclusive offers!

facebook.com/familybugs
http://www.fb.com/familybugs

And don’t forget to *LEAVE A COMMENT* share this post, and subscribe for more great tips, advice, suggestions, and personal examples in the world of selling hand-made crafts (but especially crochet!).

2 thoughts on “Lessons from small children

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

