The SWOT self-evaluation


SWOT EvaluationGoing through my blogs yesterday morning, I stumbled across Alison Pinney and her blog.  She is a business Mom who shares her experiences and tips to help other business Moms and this particular post is about the SWOT evaluation.  Without stealing her thunder here, I’m just going to say that SWOT stands for “Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats”.  For more information about this method, I highly advice that you click on over and check her out (she’s pretty awesome).  WARNING: Here’s gonna be another super personal post, because I am going to analyze my own business (and website) using this method.

Strengths:

  • I’m fast.  I respond fast to inquiries and I work-up custom products quickly
  • Shipping is flat rate.  No matter how many products that you order, the shipping is always the same low rate.
  • Customer service.  If a customer doesn’t like my products, I’m totally willing to refer them to someone else.  The customer WILL get what they are looking for when they come to me.
  • Expert.  I’ve done the research (or rather I’m doing the research, because it’s a never-ending learning experience), I know what I’m making and I’m learning how to sell it.
  • Handmade products that really are made with the customer in mind.
  • Easy to contact me: That “contact me” button is on EVERY single page of my webpage.  I’ve checked and rechecked and triple checked to make sure that the customer can get in touch with me about anything.
  • My website is easy to navigate.  The top menu will take you from the Welcome, to the Products, to the Faq, and this blog.

Weaknesses:

  • Crochet Newborn Photo PropThe quality of my material isn’t my favorite. (it’s still good, just not what I would prefer.  I go for cheap AND good, and my preferred material is a bit more expensive).
  • I need to narrow my niche.  Too many different products and no focus.
  • Still fairly new and inexperienced in the selling aspect.
  • Couldn’t get the blog to work on my website.  Had to create another blog here that is apart from my page.

Opportunities:

  • Increase in business ventures.
  • Getting to know other associates who sell similar products.
  • The abundant blogs and information available on the internet for research purposes.
  • Summertime is a bit slow for crochet hats and scarfs which lets me increase in other things that I also enjoy making (like newborn photo props).
  • A craft fair coming up in October that I have plenty of downtime to prepare for.

Threats:

Crochet Photo PropI think that it’s very important to analyze your own business *AT LEAST* quarterly.  You can asses what’s going on, what’s working, what isn’t working, set new goals and deadlines.  Evaluate yourself and how things work, then make improvements where they are needed.  Sometimes, it can be hard to see where you stand in the big picture, SWOT is a great method to figure things out.

Why don’t you blog your own SWOT, link back to Alison Piney as your inspiration, and work towards bettering yourself!

 

6 thoughts on “The SWOT self-evaluation

  1. I simply could not go away your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information a person provide in your guests? Is gonna be again steadily in order to check up on new posts

    1. Stevie, thank you very much. These are just a few of the things that I have come across in my adventures in selling, and I want to share it with anyone else who may be taking a similar journey.

  2. Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Kudos!

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

