Going outside of “computers” to run your business


If you aren’t already connected via smart-phone (specifically an iphone), then you are seriously missing out!  Just recently, my husband got a new iphone and handed his old one down to me.  OH. MAN. The opportunities for my business just SKYROCKETED!  Keeping in mind that I didn’t even have a cell phone prior to this (mine died about 5 months ago, and we haven’t been able to replace it).  I’m totally in love with all of the wonderful apps and the instantaneous connectability of it, that I really just needed to share the advantages of being connected with an iphone.

1. It is INSTANT.  When someone emails me, I get it within seconds.  When someone comments on my facebook, I get the jingle and the notification immediately.  This is great when trying to customize orders.  You don’t have to write an email, wait for a reply, write back, spending, in some cases, *days* trying to sort out exactly what your customer wants from you.  They put the order through, you get the notification, and can sort out the details RIGHT THEN.

2. Apps keep you CONNECTED.  There is an Etsy app, which can connect you straight to your etsy store.  There is a facebook app, which will link you up right onto your facebook page.  A blogging app, which helps you keep all of your ideas organized and in one place.  Even email apps.  If you are someone who is constantly on the go, and find trouble getting on a computer to check your email, facebook, etsy, twitter, whatever, this will solve a lot of your problems.

3. It’s a PHONE.  Seriously, do you ever go *anywhere* without your cell phone in your pocket/purse?  With an iphone, there is even more reason to keep it attached to you at all times.

4. It even takes PICTURES! I know of some professional photographers that use their iphone to do a majority of their pictures.  It’s perfect!  AND Mobile!  Then, once you take the pictures of your products, you can email them straight to yourself, download it, and put it right where you need it to go.  Easy Peasy!

I’m sure that I could go on and on about the benefits that this little device is giving my little crochet business.  I highly recommend getting connected via one!  Let me know if you can think of any other way that a smart phone (specifically an iphone) can help benefit your crafting business.

2 thoughts on “Going outside of “computers” to run your business

  1. Thanks, Sarah.
    Oh, I agree! This iPhone is SO useful. For all the reasons you mentioned, and potentially thousands more. Well, I’ll probably use only about twenty more apps on a typical day. These include Maps, Calendar, ToDo, Dropbox, Dictation, Contacts, 1Password, Cleartune (tuner), iTunes, Music, WeatherBug, iBooks, Kindle, and Camera.
    I might wonder how I ever used to get everything done before I got my iPhone. The answer: I used to take a lot more time to accomplish a lot less.
    -Robbie

    1. Robbie, I didn’t even consider the camera to be an app, but I definitely use that on a daily basis. I’ve only had the iphone for a couple of days now, so I’m definitely still learning how to utilize all of the cool features that are available. Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      -Sarah

Please leave a reply and let the world know what you think!

